Easy Protein Pancakes

Easy protein pancakes.  I'm in.
Easy protein pancakes?  I’m in.

After quite a long time now of eating healthy, I have tried many recipes for protein pancakes.  I have become somewhat of a connoisseur if you will.  Some are definitely better than others.  I have found that many of the recipes can be dry to the point I can barely swallow them.  Others just taste bland and boring.  While yet another negative aspect is that many of them take quite a long time to put everything together.  Then you have to cook them on low and it can take quite a while before they are ready.   That is fine if you are not in a hurry, however on days you are in a rush they usually aren’t going to cut it.

So when I heard about ProCakes premixed protein pancake mix, I was intrigued.  With this mix you only have to add milk and an egg.  I was a little skeptical at first because of many of my previous experiences but I am pretty open to new things so I decided to give them a shot.  I was offered a sample of this mix from ProCakes to try and review (unpaid) so what did I have to lose?

ProCakes pancake mix
ProCakes pancake mix

The mix calls for 1 egg and 1/3 cup milk.  I mixed the ProCakes mixture with an egg and subbed almond milk.  I bet you could probably use just egg whites too if you wanted to cut out some of the fat.  As far as cooking they were quite easy to cook compared to many recipes.  They were a breeze to flip and didn’t burn easily like many other recipes I have made (though I did burn mine a bit because I was trying to multitask while cooking and left them alone way too long 😦 )

In a few minutes, I had protein pancakes that were ready to eat!  I have to say I was very impressed with this mix.  The taste was amazing with a light, buttery type flavor.  The texture was light and fluffy and not too dense at all.  The taste of these was very comparable to “regular” pancakes.  It was quite a surprise!  I added some blueberries to one of mine as well to see how that would work and it turned out perfectly (some recipes get weird when you add fruit!).

Also, for my Celiac friends, these pancakes are GLUTEN FREE!!!

Nice and puffy!
Nice and puffy!

Did I mention these have no added sugar? NICE!

Overall I was highly impressed with these pancakes and would definitely get them again.   If you would like to try some for yourself, the website is:  http://www.procakes.com/

pro2web
Go getcha some ProCakes!

*I was sent this sample from ProCakes to give an honest review.  I was not paid to endorse the product.

Leave a Reply

